Google Translate
Google Search
School Logo

Field House Infant School and Nursery

Aspire and Believe to Achieve.

Get in Touch

Key Stage One

Key stage one is the legal term for the two years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales normally known as year one and year two, when pupils are aged between five and seven years. This key stage normally covers pupils during infant school, although in some cases this might form part of a first or primary school.

You can find more information about the key stage one programmes of study here:


Our key stage one curriculum consists of discreate subjects and interconnected subjects, studied through themed topics, which are mapped to the aims, skills and knowledge in the National Curriculum programmes of study.  English is developed daily through the topic and is integral to all subjects, giving children the opportunity to use their reading, writing and language skills across the curriculum. All lessons are also mapped to social, moral, spiritual and cultural development (SMSC), which includes aspects of the fundamental British values of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty and mutual respect for and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs and for those without faith. 


We have designed our key stage one curriculum with enthusiasm and pride, ensuring it meets the needs of the children and gives them the best opportunities to meet the requirements of the National Curriculum, through engaging and exciting lessons.  The key stage one curriculum is broad and balanced, and we are dedicated to ensuring that through this curriculum, all of our children are able to maximise their true potential during their valuable time at our school.


Please take a look at the long-term plans for year one and year two below and read more on the class information pages.  For further information on the children’s learning throughout early years, please make an appointment to see your child’s class teacher.